Epitaph

Now that our country is becoming very insecure, i have been thinking about my tombstone every time i step outside of my house. Death seems to be stalking us everywhere we go, waiting,lurking behind the scenes. If Kenyans are not being killed due to inter-clan wars, its marauding gangs setting fire and shooting people indiscriminately, and if you don’t die of those two, it will be a speeding driver or a drunk one hurrying you to you to your grave. In case you survive the above, a stray bullet might finish the job, assuming that you are not dating a man who decides to blow or chop your brains out simply because you disagreed with him.

I need to be prepared for my death and i need to decide what goes on my tombstone. i have always thought that a simple summary of the years i have lived will look ugly on my tombstone. I am an avid reader and poetry is one pleasure that i indulge in, so i have been going through poems looking for the one that will be most appropriate for my epitaph and i believe the following poem will be appropriate… assuming someone from my family or my friends comes across this space.

Remember me when I am gone away

Gone away into the silent land

When you can no more hold me by the hand

Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay

Remember me when no more day by day

You tell me our future that you plann’d

Only remember me: you understand

It will be late to counsel then or pray

Yet if you should forget me for a while

And afterwards remember, do not grieve

For if darkness and corruption leave

A vestige of the thoughts that once I had

Better by far you should forget and smile

Than that you should remember and be sad

Christina Rossetti.

If one day i walk out of my house and never return then dear friends you know what should be on my tombstone.

Leave a Reply

